Magic The Gathering Combos
Search Cards & Combos:

Home     Submit A Combo     Deck Builder     Forums     Picture Guess     Help

You are not logged in [click to login] - [Join For Free!]  

Forum Overview >> Combos
Combo Name: Infinite...Whatever you want! Submitted By: ComboDeath
Card Name
Editions (ordered by release)

Experiment Kraj
Legendary Creature - Ooze Mutant 2GGUU 4/6 Dissension, Rare

Gilder Bairn
Creature - Ouphe 1(G/U)(G/U) 1/3 Eventide, Uncommon

Gyre Sage
Creature - Elf Druid 1G 1 / 2 Gatecrash, Rare

Simic Manipulator
Creature - Mutant Wizard 1UU 0 / 1 Gatecrash, Rare

Sage of Hours
Creature - Human Wizard 1U 1 / 1 Journey into Nyx, Mythic
Estimated Combo Cost: $8.59
Date Posted: Thu Jun/22/17 at 7:33 pm

Posts: 0
Joined: 22-Jun-17

With Gyre Sage, Experiment Kraj, and Gilder Bairn in play, you can use Experiment Kraj to put a +1/+1 counter on Gyre Sage if it doesn't already have one.

Then use Kraj to put a +1/+1 Counter on Gilder Bairn. Now use 3 mana to UNTAP Kraj and double the counters on Gyre.

Tap Kraj to put a counter on Kraj. Tap Gyre and 1 other mana to untap Kraj and double the counters on itself. Repeat process using Kraj to produce 2 mana, pay 1 more, Untap Kraj and double counters to 4. Repeat process until you reach the desired amount of mana and +1/+1 counters. You can then also put any number of counters on Sage of Hours or Simic Manipulator to take as many turns as you want or take all creatures.
Date Posted: Mon Jun/26/17 at 8:00pm

Posts: 1553
Joined: 02-Nov-11

I think that you need to have only 1 +1/+1 counter on Gyre Sage and Gilder Bairn. After that you need to stack the +1/+1 counters on Kraj. The reason for this is that Kraj should be gaining the creature abilities, meaning the Gyre Sage ability, when used by Kraj, will check Kraj. This is reflected in Kraj's errata:
Unlike with cards like Quicksilver Elemental, the costs of the activated abilities Experiment Kraj gains must be paid with the correct colors of mana.
Just for reference, Quicksilver's reminder text says:
If any of the abilities use that creature's name, use this creature's name instead.)

So, it still works overall, just in a different way.

Forum Overview >> Combos