Magic The Gathering Combos
Search Cards & Combos:

Home     Submit A Combo     Deck Builder     Forums     Picture Guess     Help

You are not logged in [click to login] - [Join For Free!]  

Forum Overview >> Combos
Combo Name: Infinity Thief Submitted By: Boyachi
Card Name
Editions (ordered by release)

Creature - Clone 3U 0 / 0 Onslaught, Rare

Medomai the Ageless
Legendary Creature - Sphinx 4WU 4 / 4 Theros, Mythic
Estimated Combo Cost: $1.82
Date Posted: Tue Dec/13/16 at 10:17 pm

Posts: 1553
Joined: 02-Nov-11

Clone is standing in for Identity Thief:
Creature ó Shapeshifter (0/3)
Whenever Identity Thief attacks, you may exile another target nontoken creature. If you do, Identity Thief becomes a copy of that creature until end of turn. Return the exiled card to the battlefield under its owner's control at the beginning of the next end step.

Attack with Medomai to get the extra turn, then use the Thief to become Medomai, which occurs after the attack is already initiated, thus netting extra turns during extra turns.
Date Posted: Fri Dec/16/16 at 10:01pm

Posts: 19
Joined: 01-Dec-12

This won't work your extra turn is still consider your extra turn. It wont be able to attack.
Date Posted: Sat Dec/24/16 at 10:54am

Posts: 1553
Joined: 02-Nov-11

It will and does, because it is Identity Thief that attacks, not Medomai. The clone effect is triggered by Identity Thief attacking.
Since it happens after, Thief will still deal combat damage as Medomai, as the trigger occurs after said attack.
Date Posted: Sun Apr/16/17 at 2:44am

Posts: 79
Joined: 23-Dec-11

As identity thief becomes Medomai. It remains identical, so: "Medomai the Ageless can't attack during extra turns." would also apply to identity thief. Regardless of which caused the extra turn, neither in Medomai form would be able to attack during that extra turn.
Date Posted: Sun Apr/16/17 at 11:01pm

Posts: 1553
Joined: 02-Nov-11

Please consult and look at the errata for Identity Thief.

This effect can cause Identity Thief to become a copy of a creature that canít normally attack, such as Lupine Prototype or a creature with defender. In these cases, it remains attacking.

Yes. Yes it can.
Date Posted: Thu Apr/20/17 at 1:16pm

Posts: 79
Joined: 23-Dec-11 takes me to a LifeLock website.
Date Posted: Fri May/12/17 at 6:19pm

Posts: 46
Joined: 25-Oct-15

The long of the short of it is that this is a valid interaction because Identity Thief is legally bypassing the extra turn attack restriction.

It's very similar to Kaalia of the Vast and Master of Cruelties.

Identity Thief is not the same as Medomai the Ageless. Even after the clone morphs into Medomai, it still reverts back to the original clone.

There's nothing that prevents the creature Identity Thief from attacking and resolving its triggered ability.

Please refer to rule 608.2c for further clarification.

608.2c: The controller of the spell or ability follows its instructions in the order written. However, replacement effects may modify these actions. In some cases, later text on the card may modify the meaning of earlier text (for example, "Destroy target creature. It can't be regenerated" or "Counter target spell. If that spell is countered this way, put it on top of its owner's library instead of into its owner's graveyard.") Don't just apply effects step by step without thinking in these cases-read the whole text and apply the rules of English to the text.

Date Posted: Fri May/12/17 at 6:21pm

Posts: 46
Joined: 25-Oct-15


That should be the WOTC website.

Otherwise, you can use this site:
Date Posted: Sat Jun/17/17 at 7:34pm

Posts: 4
Joined: 16-Jun-17

I am me well I was till I forgot the password.... I see now the thief is a thief till you attack by then the rule is too late to aply.

Forum Overview >> Combos