Magic The Gathering Combos
Search Cards & Combos:

Home     Submit A Combo     Deck Builder     Forums     Picture Guess     Help

You are not logged in [click to login] - [Join For Free!]  

Forum Overview >> Combos
Combo Name: Polymorphist's Jest Submitted By: Dusk
Card Name
Editions (ordered by release)

Izzet Staticaster
Creature - Human Wizard 1UR 0 / 3 Return to Ravnica, Uncommon

Turn to Frog
Instant 1U Magic 2012, Uncommon
Estimated Combo Cost: $0.58
Date Posted: Wed Jul/09/14 at 8:33 am

Posts: 94
Joined: 18-Dec-13

Turn to Frog is Polymorphist's Jest. Turn all opponent's creatures into frogs, then shot with Izzet Staticaster and kill them all.
Date Posted: Wed Jul/09/14 at 9:35am

Posts: 1370
Joined: 30-Nov-11

I don't think this works. The jest only sets the creature type to Frog, color to blue and power / toughness to 1/1. It doesn't change the creatures' names to Frog which would be a precondition that the Staticaster fires to all of them.
Date Posted: Wed Jul/09/14 at 9:43am

Posts: 636
Joined: 24-Mar-13

Wojek Embermage instead.

[Edited by terakhan on 9/Jul/14 at 9:44AM]
Date Posted: Wed Jul/09/14 at 11:36am

Posts: 94
Joined: 18-Dec-13

My fault, sorry. I thought Frog was a name, not a type. Does it work instead with tokens, such those generated with Curse of the Swine? (Don't mind that 1 damage doesn't kill them)
Date Posted: Wed Jul/09/14 at 1:44pm

Posts: 1370
Joined: 30-Nov-11

No, Boar is a creature type, too.

Prossh, Skyraider of Kher and Tombstone Stairwell produce tokens with names.

Edit: Search for "token" and "named" in the errate text. Other named-token generating cards are
Tuktuk the Explorer
Boris Devilboon
Dark Depths
Gemini Engine
Giant Caterpillar
Goldmeadow Lookout
Helm of Kaldra
Hornet Cannon
Jungle Patrol
Kher Keep
King Macar, the Gold-Cursed
Llanowar Mentor
Master of the Hunt
Skirk Ridge Exhumer
The Hive
Tolsimir Wolfblood
Tomb of Urami
Tooth and Claw
Wall of Kelp
Wirefly Hive

[Edited by knarf_the_dwarf on 9/Jul/14 at 2:03PM]
Date Posted: Wed Jul/09/14 at 4:12pm

Posts: 636
Joined: 24-Mar-13

Actually, in the case of tokens, unless it specifically gives them a name like Stangg does, their creature type is also their name. Tokens were why Staticaster was made in the first place, really.
Date Posted: Thu Jul/10/14 at 12:37am

Posts: 1370
Joined: 30-Nov-11

terakhan is right, I looked it up in the rules:
110.5c A spell or ability that creates a creature token sets both its name and its creature type. If the spell or ability doesn’t specify the name of the creature token, its name is the same as its creature type(s). A “Goblin Scout creature token,” for example, is named “Goblin Scout” and has the creature subtypes Goblin and Scout. Once a token is on the battlefield, changing its name doesn’t change its creature type, and vice versa.

So Dusk's combo works, too.
Date Posted: Thu Jul/10/14 at 1:34am

Posts: 94
Joined: 18-Dec-13

Sorry Knarf, to which combo do you refer? I understand that Staticaster only affects token (which have the same name) and not Frog creatures, or am I missing something?
Date Posted: Thu Jul/10/14 at 2:49am

The following users like this post:

Posts: 1370
Joined: 30-Nov-11

Dusk, your combo post with Curse of the Swine and the Izzet Staticaster works.
The Curse of the Swine creates tokens of Name and type Boar. So the staticaster could hit them all. My first incorrect answer was that this does not work. I missed the rule 110.5c.

Polymorphist's Jest does not create Tokens. Polymorphist's Jest let creature lose their abilities and then overrides their color, creature type and P/T values. Polymorphist's Jest does not change existing names.

Date Posted: Tue Jul/15/14 at 9:38pm

Posts: 3
Joined: 15-Jul-14

Hmmmmm... I'm not sure if the creature type is changed or if the creature name is changed. If the former is true, the combo you first described does not work. However, curse of the swine will always work because tokens' names are their creature types unless they become changed after entering the battlefield. There are no rulings on the card, and so I believe that the combo will not work because it does not change the card's name.
Date Posted: Wed Jul/16/14 at 11:36am

Posts: 636
Joined: 24-Mar-13

If an effect alters a name, it specifies it, like Sakashima the Impostor does, by copying a creature but its copy ability changing its name to Sakashima instead of whatever the creature is.
Date Posted: Fri Aug/01/14 at 12:28pm

Posts: 2
Joined: 30-Jul-14

Why not just use an overloaded Electrickery with your Polymorphist's Jest?

Forum Overview >> Combos