Magic The Gathering Combos
Search Cards & Combos:

Home     Submit A Combo     Deck Builder     Forums     Picture Guess     Help

You are not logged in [click to login] - [Join For Free!]  





Forum Overview >> Combos
Combo Name: in awe of godheads mill Submitted By: reaper
Card Name
Type
Cost
P/T
Editions (ordered by release)

Altar of Dementia
Artifact 2 Tempest, Rare

Reveillark
Creature - Elemental 4W 4/3 Morningtide, Rare

Reveillark
Creature - Elemental 4W 4/3 Morningtide, Rare

Godhead of Awe
Creature - Spirit Avatar (W/U)(W/U)(W/U)(W/U)(W/U) 4/4 Shadowmoor, Rare
Estimated Combo Cost: $13.76
Date Posted: Tue Aug/16/11 at 6:43 am

reaper
Posts: 436
Joined: 23-Jul-11

play godhead to make your reveillarks into 1/1s, then sacrifice the first to altar to mill. Then sacrifice the second to mil,l but this will also return the first reveillark to play. Rinse and repeat infinite times until opponent has no deck.
Date Posted: Tue Aug/16/11 at 7:54am

Narcinek War-Rider
Posts: 1283
Joined: 16-Jun-11

Infinite mill, nice. Ya know if I felt like spending the money on Mind Sculptor I would make deck that actually uses his final ability.
Date Posted: Tue Aug/16/11 at 9:22am

TheCaptain
Posts: 909
Joined: 13-Apr-11

I'm pretty sure this doesn't work. When each Reviellark hits the graveyard they cease to be affected by Godhead of Awe, so they return to their original power and toughness and then can't be returned by each other.
Date Posted: Tue Aug/16/11 at 12:39pm

Dakkon Thued
Posts: 312
Joined: 15-Mar-10

AYE AYE captain. you are correct
Date Posted: Tue Aug/16/11 at 1:47pm

Narcinek War-Rider
Posts: 1283
Joined: 16-Jun-11

It would but you would only mill one card per sac.
Date Posted: Tue Aug/16/11 at 1:51pm

TheCaptain
Posts: 909
Joined: 13-Apr-11

No. No it would not work. Mechanist, you didn't read WHY I said it won't work. Because as soon as a Reviellark hits the GY, it ceases to become a 1/1 and returns to being a 4/3, thus being an illegal target for your next Reviellark. Godhead does not affect cards in your graveyard, it only affects cards that are in play. Once a card enters a new zone, it ceases to be affected by Godhead.
Date Posted: Fri Mar/01/13 at 12:44pm

reaper
Posts: 436
Joined: 23-Jul-11

Just says other creatures does not say whether or not it targets them in or out of play
Date Posted: Fri Mar/01/13 at 12:45pm

reaper
Posts: 436
Joined: 23-Jul-11

Just says other creatures but it does not say creatures in or out of play
Date Posted: Fri Mar/01/13 at 1:00pm

Boyachi
Posts: 1553
Joined: 02-Nov-11

All cards are either lands or spells (I think Planeswalkers are spells).

Creature is a spell type. The creature becomes a creature when it enters the battlefield. When it leaves the battlefield, it ceases to be a creature.

Otherwise I could Swords to Plowshares any creature in your hand or library or graveyard. It does not work that way.
Date Posted: Fri Mar/01/13 at 2:06pm

reaper
Posts: 436
Joined: 23-Jul-11

Fair enough good point
Date Posted: Fri Mar/01/13 at 4:19pm

SirZapdos
Posts: 329
Joined: 21-Jun-11

I think you can use Body Double in some way to get this combo going.
Date Posted: Fri Mar/01/13 at 4:56pm

knarf_the_dwarf
Posts: 1370
Joined: 30-Nov-11

What's about two Karmic Guide and one altar?
Date Posted: Sat Mar/02/13 at 6:40pm

Chewy
Posts: 841
Joined: 18-Jan-13

That could work, knarf. Good substitute.
Date Posted: Sat Mar/02/13 at 8:21pm

reaper
Posts: 436
Joined: 23-Jul-11

Wouldn't work nice card but as soon as they hit grave they'd stay there
Date Posted: Sun Mar/03/13 at 6:03pm

knarf_the_dwarf
Posts: 1370
Joined: 30-Nov-11

Have one Guide in play, sacrifice this Guide, cast the second Guide. When the second Guide etb, it triggers its etb ability and you put this ability on the stack. In response you sacrifice the 2nd Guide just cast; now you have 2 Guides in Graveyard. Resolve sacrifice 2nd Guide (2 mana floating), resolve 2nd Guide etb, choose 1st Guide in graveyard and put it into play. This triggers again... repeat as much as necessary.
Date Posted: Wed Mar/06/13 at 1:50am

reaper
Posts: 436
Joined: 23-Jul-11

I understand when they hit plat i can pull from grave, but where could i put them in play once they go to grave after both being played? Idk maybe im missing something, just looks like unless i cast them they would be in grave without a return effect.
Date Posted: Wed Mar/06/13 at 3:13am

knarf_the_dwarf
Posts: 1370
Joined: 30-Nov-11

You understand the Karmic correct. Once both are in graveyard or one in grave and the other already in play they stay there. But, at that point your opponents have no cards in their library.
Also see http://www.mtgcombos.com/view.php?fid=2&tid=67386&t=burningtree-emissary
Date Posted: Fri Mar/08/13 at 12:47am

reaper
Posts: 436
Joined: 23-Jul-11

Ok so i play one sacrifice it mill tiny amount. Next turn play the other returning first the sac. one to altar mill small amount again. Where does it return from that point?
Date Posted: Fri Mar/08/13 at 2:18am

knarf_the_dwarf
Posts: 1370
Joined: 30-Nov-11

reaper, here is the explanation how it works in more detail:

Prerequisite: Have one Guide ([1]) in play or graveyard, have the second Guide ([2]) in your hand.

Step 1: Either sacrifice Guide [1], deckmill from [1] on stack, resolve directly 2 cards milled OR proceed Step 1.0
Step 1.0: [1] in grave, [2] in hand,

Step 1.1: cast the second Guide [2]. Resolve cast [2].

Step 1.2: When the second Guide [2] enters the battlefield (etb), it triggers its etb ability and you put this ability on the stack targeting [1] which is already in grave.
Stack: etb from [2]
[1] in grave, [2] in play, 2 cards milled

Step 1.3: In response you sacrifice the 2nd Guide [2] and put the deck milling effect on the stack.
Stack, etb from [2],  deckmill from [2]
[1] and [2] in grave, 2 cards milled

Step 1.4: Resolve mill
Both Guides in grave, 4 cards milled
Stack, etb from [2]

Step 1.5: Resolve etb from [2]
This brings [1] back to play, this triggers  etb from [1]
[1] in play, [2] in grave, 4 cards milled
Stack, etb from [1]

Step 1.6: In response you sacrifice the 1st Guide [1] and put the deck milling effect on the stack.
Stack, etb from [1], deckmill from [1]
[1] and [2] in grave, 4 cards milled

Step 1.7: Resolve mill
Both Guides in grave, 6 cards milled
Stack, etb from [1]

Step 1.8: Resolve etb from [1]
When the second Guide [2] enters the battlefield (etb), it triggers its etb ability and you put this ability on the stack targeting [1] which is in grave.
Stack, etb from [2]
[1] in grave, [2] in play, 6 cards milled

You may notice that Step 1.8 equals 1.2 except the amount of cards milled. Starting with step 1.2 the stack never gets empty. That means all following steps are done in your main phase 1 or 2 unless the Guide got flash somehow. You mill the library complete but only once. If you want to make this combo repeatable in every round, then you have to add a Shrieking Drake to bounce 1 Guide as last effect put on your stack... by that, you just set up the prerequisite again.
Date Posted: Sun Mar/17/13 at 1:45pm

reaper
Posts: 436
Joined: 23-Jul-11

I see what u mean here sir
Date Posted: Sun Mar/17/13 at 2:15pm

knarf_the_dwarf
Posts: 1370
Joined: 30-Nov-11

You are welcome!-)



Forum Overview >> Combos

©2006-2018 MTGCombos.com